Lifestyle

I’m not that girl.

I am not that girl.

I am not the girl who has a ton of friends to hang out with every weekend.

I am not the girl who guys take much/any interest in.

I am not the girl with 1000’s of followers or likes on Instagram.

I am not the girl with extreme smarts, talents or perfect skin.

I am not the girl who can eat all she wants and not gain weight.

I am not the girl who memorizes every scripture flawlessly.

I am not the girl who keeps a perfect diet and workout routine

I am not that girl.

And that’s okay.

 

We are not called to fit societies expectations, or to be like everyone else. We are not called to have it all together. None of us actually have it all together, but sometimes we’re pretty good at faking it.

Let us not covet what we don’t have, but appreciate what we do. I know it’s not easy, but let’s be honest, comparing ourselves to others is not productive.

Comparison is the thief of joy.” -Theodore Roosevelt

I think it’s vital for us all to remember that we are made in God’s image. This may sound cliché, but it’s honestly a beautiful thing. How boring would life be if we all looked and acted the same? Here’s my challenge to you: stop focusing on who you are not, and embrace who you are.

Now, I don’t mean to never improve or better yourself- as we should all strive to be better- just don’t consider “bettering yourself” to be turning yourself into someone you’re not. Realize who you are & whose you are.

No, I’m not all those girls I often long to be, but here’s who I am:

I am the girl who laughs loudly and often, probably pretty obnoxiously- but that is because I have great joy and a sense of humor.

I am the girl who is considered sick “all the time,” and that’s fine because it’s a part of my testimony and God can (and does) use it!

I am the girl who enjoys hanging out with her parents, because I’ve dealt with loss from a young age & have come to understand and cherish the little time we have on this earth with the ones we love.

I am the girl whose voice gets high-pitched & whose eyes tear up when they see a dog, because I’m allergic to them, but they’re still the cutest things and bring me so much joy.

I am the girl who owns more comic books than she does makeup, shoes or hair tools- but that’s because I received that interest from family members I consider my heroes.

I am the girl who can’t sing worth a hoot, but does it anyway because it makes her worst days better & actually helps some of her chronic pain subside.

I am the girl who loves puns more than anyone should, and that’s okay because I realize that such small, silly things are capable of bringing about so much joy and amusement- it makes me feel warm and fuzzy.

I am the girl who is often considered a “fan girl,” just because I really love many characters, shows, music artists and books- and people find it weird- but I can accept that because it’s helped me realize my spiritual gift of exhortations (encouragement) and lifting others up.

I am the girl who realizes she’s loved by the creator of the universe & who, no matter what’s going in her life, understands she is desired, loved & has an eternity of peace, joy and bliss waiting for her.

There’s a bright side to everything if you want there to be. Realize who you are. Take those traits you don’t like about yourself & find the positives about them. Define them for yourself & don’t let them define you. If you accentuate the positives, the negative mindset can drift away a little bit. Maybe not all at once. Believe me, I still struggle with insecurity, depression, anxiety & self-doubt all the time.

While positivity may not cure these things, it sure does make them easier to fight. I didn’t find this optimism on my own- it came from Christ who has pulled me out of the deepest waters and most turbulent storms in my life. The hope of his promise for our eternity anchors the soul and makes everything worth it to me, and it can for you too.

Jesus loves you SO much, my friends. Never forget that.

Until next time,

1 thought on “I’m not that girl.”

  1. You are a breath of fresh air! My son was diagnosed with POTS almost 3 years ago now and I see a lot of posts by others living with chronic illness. My heart breaks for all of you especially those who don’t know Jesus. Thank you for sharing your story and your faith with a community who really needs a positive message!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.