Lifestyle

Never Enough

If the title of this post got you singing a song from The Greatest Showman, you’re not alone! While this post is not about the film, it does take a bit of inspiration from the song’s lyrics.

We as humans struggle with contentment, with finding “enough-ness.” We want it all and once we get it, we want more. We believe if we only had x, y or z, we would feel complete. This notion is completely false but very distinctly human.

..without you, all the shine of a thousand spotlights; all the stars we steal from the night sky will never be enough. Never be enough. Towers of gold are still too little, these hands could hold the world and it’ll never be enough; never be enough for me…”

In this song, the character Jenny Lind was clearly singing to someone, referring to the idea that she could have everything and it would mean nothing if she didn’t have that someone. Now, as her character was a performer, it doesn’t deliberately address who that someone is, but it is clearly a love song.

As a Christian, this song resonates with me because without God, I’d have nothing & nothing would have purpose or meaning. I could have every “good” and “desirable” thing in the world, and it would never fulfill me or bring me happiness. Only God’s love and peace can calm my spirit and fill me with unending joy in all situations. I like to listen to this song and take it in as a love song to our creator.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t really began to hear the song in this way until I attended a Women’s event hosted by the Christian radio station, KSBJ, when Francesca Battistelli sang it at the start of her set. She sang it beautifully and it really got me thinking throughout the rest of the night, thus inspiring me to write this.

This reminds me of Luke 9:25 where Jesus says:

“What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, and yet lose or forfeit their very self?”

‭‭

Without our faith, Christ’s sacrifice and an eternity to look forward to in Heaven, nothing means anything. Having everything we desire will not fulfill us or make us happy. Getting lost in obsessions for the material things of this world can cause us to lose sight of who we are and what’s truly important.

Now, to avoid rambling on because I could honestly talk about this for days, I’ll just leave you to ruminate on these words. It’s such a simple, seemingly redundant concept that I still think we all struggle grasping from time to time.

If this is relatable to you, feel free to use this prayer:

Heavenly Father,

I know I so often lose sight of you and of what’s truly important. I pray for guidance and ask you to refocus what is on my heart so that I can live a more meaningful life that pleases you. Help me remember that the luxuries of this world do not follow me to Heaven when my time on earth comes to an end; remind me that there are far better things waiting for me in your Kingdom. God, help me serve others and find contentment and gratefulness for the things I have instead of lusting for the unnecessary luxuries that will not ignite my soul with hope and goodness. Help me not lose sight of who I am in the pursuit of said luxuries. I don’t want to gain the world if it means losing my soul. Lord without you, all of the good things this world has to offer will never be enough for me.

In your heavenly name I pray,

Amen.”

Until next time,

1 thought on “Never Enough”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.